Finalists for the 2016 New Zealand Open Source Awards

Finalists for the 2016 New Zealand Open Source Awards

The finalists for the 2016 New Zealand Open Source Awards have been announced. The final award winners will be announced at the Gala Dinner in Wellington on October 25.

Chair of the judging panel Jason Ryan, from Catalyst, said the judges were faced with the difficult but rewarding task of selecting finalists from the more than one hundred nominations.

“The steady increase in the use and understanding of open source across communities and the public and private sectors has seen a record number of nominations in 2016.

“The quality of all of the nominations was very impressive. We are fortunate to have so many people here using open source technology and philosophy to deliver amazing technical, social and creative projects.

“The judges would like to congratulate all of the nominees, as all of their contributions have created significant value for our communities, research institutions and businesses.”

“The judging panel has considered all of the entries on their merits, and after considerable deliberation, has selected the following people and projects to comprise the finalists for the 2016 New Zealand Open Source Awards.”

Arts: Te Papa Tongarewa, Public Patch, Make/Use for Zero Waste Fashion.
Business:  Catalyst Cloud, Wireless Network Modelling Tools, Samba.
Government: DigitalNZ, New Zealand Herald for, Sensibel.
Education, Social Services & Youth: City Housing Computer Hubs, Ignite, NatureWatch.
Open Science: Cacophony Project, Jared Kibele, Marine Biodiversity Database
Open Source Contributor: Aleisha Amoiha, Douglas Bagnall, Eileen McNaughton, Brent Wood.
Software Project: AwaLWM2M, Loomio, OneRNG.

“There will be two other awards announced on the night, the People's Choice Award and the University of Auckland's Department of Computer Science will present the Clinton Bedogni Prize for Open Systems,” Jason Ryan said.

Voting for the People's choice award starts on Wednesday 17 August and closes on Monday 5 September.  Vote on the New Zealand Open Source Awards website

People's Choice: Brent Wood, Cacophony, DigitalNZ, Douglas Bagnall, NZGOAL-SE Consultation, Priv-O-Matic, Sensibel.

The judges for the 2016 New Zealand Open Source Awards are: Edwin Bruce, Jay Daley, Brenda Wallace. Bronwyn Holloway‑Smith, Dr Fabiana Kubke, Dave Lane and Jason Ryan.

More information on the judging panel is available here:


← Back to the news

Last modified:

2021 NZOSA Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors
Gold Sponsors
Silver Sponsors
Bronze Sponsors

© 2022 Catalyst IT Limited. | Powered by SilverStripe. | Designed by Catalyst IT.