Winners of the 2016 New Zealand Open Source Awards Announced

Winners of the 2016 New Zealand Open Source Awards Announced

The winners of the 2016 New Zealand Open Source Awards were announced at a gala dinner in Wellington last night.

The winners for each category were:

  • Government: Digital NZ, an initiative that seeks to help people find, share, and use NZ digital content.
  • Business: Catalyst for the Catalyst Cloud, the only fully API-driven cloud infrastructure in New Zealand.
  • Education, Social Services and Youth:  Wellington City Council for City Housing Computer Hubs, open source computing hubs for council tenants.
  • Arts: Massey University's Make/Use team for Make/Use: User Modifiable Zero Waste Fashion, an open source system for making user-modifiable, zero waste garments.
  • Science: The Cacophony Project, using modern IT tools and applying them to the problem of eradicating rats, stoats and possums from New Zealand.
  • Open Source Project: Paul Campbell’s OneRNG Project, a device that generates random data to improve the quality of security-critical operations, such as encryption.
  • Open Source Contributor: Eileen McNaughton for her contribution to CiviCRM.
  • People's Choice: Brent Wood for services to geospatial open source,  and the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Priv-O-Matic.
  • Special Award: Michael Kerrisk for his work on the Linux Man Pages Project

Also announced on the night was the University of Auckland's Department of Computer Science Clinton Bedogni Prize for Open Systems. The winner of the 2016 prize was Peter Gutmann.

“This is an impressive list of New Zealand's Open Source community, and it represents a cross-section of what is a thriving technical, social and creative sector.

“The calibre of the nominations meant that there were strong contenders in every category. And while all of the finalists were worthy of recognition, the judges unanimously agreed that the winners in each category were those most deserving of recognition for their contributions”, Jason Ryan, chair of the judging panel said.

More information on the winners and finalists is available at:

Contact: Jason Ryan 027 244 7081

← Back to the news

Last modified:

2021 NZOSA Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors
Gold Sponsors
Silver Sponsors
Bronze Sponsors

© 2022 Catalyst IT Limited. | Powered by SilverStripe. | Designed by Catalyst IT.