bg prevwinners a

Ngā Tohu Pūmanawa Herekore o Aotearoa 2018

NZOSA Awards 2018

2018 Winners and finalists

Winner - Open Source Use in Business:

Sparks Interactive for the Drupal Sector distribution and link)


Winner - Open Source in Government:

The Service Innovation Lab for the Rates Rebates Alpha(external link), Family Services Directory API & for working openly and collaboratively


Winner - Open Source Software Project:

The Faucet Foundation(external link) - SDN Controller project


Winner - Open Source Contributor:

Victoria Spagnolo - for contributions to the Drupal Project and Drupal Migrate(external link)


Winner - Open Source in Education, Social Services and Youth:

AUT Library For Tuwhera(external link)


Winner - Open Source use in Science:

Kea Sightings Project for the Kea Database(external link)


Winner - Open Source use in the Arts:

Wellington Independent Arts Trust for Urban Dream Brokerage(external link)


Winner - Open Source People's Choice award

Whare Hauora(external link) sensors project Whare Hauora Sensors


Winner - Open Source special awards

Brenda Wallace - Appreciation for the breadth and depth of her community commitment and open source contributions

Lillian Hetet-Owen, Hetet School of Māori Art - for using Open Source to support Freedom


Winner - Clinton Bedogni Prize for Open Systems

Dr Richard Lobb



Open Source Use in Business:

SilverStripe Ltd - The Common Web Platform 2.0(external link)

The Catalyst Cloud(external link) for major new developments in the Open Stack community(external link)


Open Source in Government:

The Ministry of Social Development for test automation framework Cubano(external link)

The New Zealand Electoral Commission for the Election Management System redevelopment(external link)


Open Source Software Project:

Ackama for the Online Dictionary of New Zealand Sign Language(external link)

Radomirs Cirskis and Roshan Pawar - New Zealand ORCID Hub(external link)


Open Source Contributor:

Desley Simmonds - as community manager of Totara Government User Group

Neil Cresswell - for development of the Portainer Software solution(external link)

Robert Lyon - for contributions to the Mahara Project(external link)


Open Source in Education, Social Services and Youth:

Amber Craig, Brenda Wallace & Hīria Te Rangi - for Whare Hauora sensors(external link)

Lillian Hetet-Owen(external link) for giving women prisoners the opportunity to weave their way to Freedom


Open Source use in Science:

David Winter(external link) for contributions to open source software and open science

MetOcean Solutions for wavespectra(external link)

NeSI and the Software Carpentry Project(external link)


Open Source use in the Arts:

Matt McKegg - LoopDrop(external link) Js for contribution to open source music tools and performance

Wellington Irish Session(external link) for preserving and opening traditional Irish music


Open Source People's Choice award

Clemens Zeidler for Fejoa(external link)

Danny Adair for ongoing leadership of the Python community in NZ(external link)

Kesara Rathnayake for the Deep Dreamer(external link) artistic AI project

Michael Proper - ClearOS by the ClearFoundation(external link) 

The Stencila Project(external link) for enabling reproducible research



2021 NZOSA Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors
Gold Sponsors
Silver Sponsors
Bronze Sponsors

© 2024 Catalyst IT Limited. | Powered by SilverStripe. | Designed by Catalyst IT.